Earth To Emily

Spring is here, for now.

It has been beautiful here….super sunny, temps in the 60s and 70s…I can’t lie, it’s been heavenly. I’m loving not bundling up just to take a walk around the block, and Elliot has been enjoying a ton of outside time. T-shirt weather and after dinner walks? Yes, please!

I could go on about the wonderful weather, but I don’t want to jinx it.

We are consistently busy, this semester for Josh has been so much crazier than the fall. After AWP a couple of weeks ago, Josh has a 3 day poetry-reading-road-trip to Cincinnati/Indianapolis this weekend. Then, I am so excited, we get to have a weekend in Boston before we head home! Woo! Josh is presenting at a conference @ Northeastern University…which means his school is paying for his flight, the hotel room and giving him $40 a day for food. Since flights to Boston were so cheap, I decided Elliot and I would tag along this time! Neither of us have been so it will be a nice getaway before the summer.

We have had time to FINALLY watch the first season of Downton Abbey…wow! Probably my favorite show ever. We are waiting in a very long line to get season 2 from Netflix (of course it’s not streaming) so no spoilers! I’ve always loved the Masterpiece Classics, I’m a sucker for a good period piece, but this show is a whole other level of great. Sorry, Jim Halpert…Matthew Crawley might be my new handsome TV love affair. I’ve been dying to watch it for a looong time, but we had been working our way through Bones to get caught up.

Josh insisted that we had to watch the whole series from start to finish to get caught up (since we have really only seen seasons 2-5ish), and with 6 seasons at 20 something episodes each, it took us weeks and weeks to get through it. I guess when it comes to his TV shows, Josh likes to be thorough. If only I could get that same dedication to the recycling…

I’m also looking for a good summer read, I was thinking War and Peace but I’d like other suggestions…or should I just jump on the bandwagon and read Hunger Games like everyone else?

Later,

Emily

4 comments on “Spring is here, for now.

  1. Ian Denning
    March 21, 2012

    Heh, look at that cute little chunk.

    Have fun in Boston! If you have time, check out the Allston neighborhood out past BU. It’s like Little Bellingham. The Freedom Trail is kind of gross and touristy, but it’s also really interesting.

  2. Lacey
    March 21, 2012

    Sooooooooooooo jealous of the weather!!!!!!! Are you sure you wanna come back for the summer??? I can’t believe you guys are in short sleeves! It is 36 degrees in B’ham right now!

    Have a great time in Boston!

    PS We LOVE Bones! Can’t wait for next season to show up on Netflix streaming!

  3. Chelsea
    March 21, 2012

    Yay, Downton!!! Also, DOUBLE/TRIPLE/QUADRUPLE YAY for FINALLY seeing you guys this summer!!!!!!!!!

  4. Chelsea
    March 21, 2012

    I can’t comment on your weather, because I don’t understand temperatures above 60.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 21, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 271 other followers

