Earth To Emily

Recommended Reading: The Magazine Edition…and Snobby Joes.

So, I said I would do the tour of our neighborhood today, but time got away from me and I was not able to get all of the photos I needed. Tomorrow or Monday will be a better day, I think.

I’ve been a magazine junky since about the age of 10. I have loved many women’s magazines at one time or another…Cosmo, Vogue, Women’s Health, Marie Claire, Allure, Jane, Nylon, Glamour, Seventeen, Elle, Oxygen…any other magazine about fashion, working out and girl stuff…I’ve probably touched it at least once. However, I’m starting to have buyers remorse every time I pick up a new magazine because I feel like I’ve read it before! Seriously though, if you’ve been reading any of them for a number of years you have read everything there is for them to print. How many times can you read the interviews of J-Lo/Beyonce/Reese Witherspoon/Angelina Jolie/Jennifer Aniston/Julia Roberts and hear about how “normal and down-to-earth” they all are? Has anyone ever really gotten “Bikini Ready By Spring in 10 Simple Moves!”…and no, I do not need to know “97 MORE Ways To Please a Man in Bed!!!!” With an 11 month old, an exhausted wife and a crazy schedule, I think Josh is happy with what he does manage to get, thank-you-very-much.

So I’m on the hunt for some new reading to re-energize my magazine love. In a lot of ways, I feel like I’ve found my printed soul mate in a little mag called Bust.

I love Amy Poehler!

This months issue has Mindy Kahling on the cover (this Amy Poehler one is old, I couldn’t find a pic of the Mindy cover!) which is why I grabbed it in the first place. I had never even seen or heard of this magazine, but I was totally blown away by it’s content! Self-proclaimed feminist magazine “With an attitude that is fierce, funny, and proud to be female, BUSTprovides an uncensored view on the female experience. BUST tells the truth about women’s lives and presents a female perspective on pop culture. BUSTing stereotypes about women since 1993.” (http://www.bust.com/info/about-bust.html)

With a plethora of info on female artists of all genres, a special section of female urban farmers, make-your-own bitters recipes, short but sweet articles and with an un-boring amount of fashion mixed in, Bust is a little less “girl” and a little more “grrrl”. I’d definitely recommend to anyone who loves girly magazines, but needs something a little more fresh.

The only con? It’s BI-MONTHLY. WTF?!?! I have to wait until November for the next one to come out. Bullshit.

***

Switching gears to the subject of dinner, I wanted to share what I made tonight because it was SO GOOD. A meat-free, soy-free, junk-free version of Sloppy Joes (lovingly referred to as Snobby Joes) that is so amazingly tasty. Completely appropriate for vegetarians, vegans, Meatless Mondays, or for when you have a shit load of lentils sitting around and you have no clue what to do with them.

This recipe is from Post Punk Kitchen…you can find the recipe here or posted below.

1 cup uncooked green lentils (though brown or red could work…use what you have)
4 cups water
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, diced small
1 green pepper, diced small
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 Tablespoons chili powder (Adjust to your spice preference AND to what level of spicy your chili powder is, because there are different ones. We used 2 tablespoons of regular chili powder to make it milder for Elliot, less was too bland)
2 teaspoons oregano
1 teaspoon salt
8 oz can tomato sauce
1/4 cup tomato paste
3 tablespoons maple syrup
1 tablespoon yellow mustard

4 to 6 kaiser rolls or sesame buns (optional – for serving).

Put the lentils in a small sauce pot and pour in 4 cups water. Cover and bring to a boil. Once boiling, lower heat and simmer for about 20 minutes, until lentils are soft. Drain and set aside.

About 10 minutes before the lentils are done boiling, preheat a medium soup pot over medium heat. Saute the onion and pepper in the oil for about 7 minutes, until softened. Add the garlic and saute a minute more.  Add the cooked lentils, the chili powder, oregano and salt and mix. Add the tomato sauce and tomato paste. Cook for about 10 minutes.

Add the maple syrup and mustard and heat through.Turn the heat off and let sit for about 10 minutes, so that the flavors can meld, or go ahead and eat immediately if you can’t wait. (We waited 5…mmmmm)

The result:

Really hearty, flavorful, nutritious and totally satisfying without all of the grease and grime of ground beef. Elliot loved it and ate a pretty large baby-serving and I had 2 all to myself!

I’ll try to get up some neighborhood photos very soon!

Peace,

Emily

7 comments on “Recommended Reading: The Magazine Edition…and Snobby Joes.

  1. Chelsea
    October 2, 2011

    Aha! I think I’ve figured out comments. Sorry we missed you the other day, I was JUST walking out the door when you called and must have shut my computer.

    On a food note – have you tried Mollie Katzen’s lentil chili? It’s vegan and tastes like heaven – a lot like what I imagine this must be like. http://www.molliekatzen.com/recipes/recipe.php?recipe=lentil_chili

  2. earth to emily
    October 2, 2011

    Ooh I will try that! I love Mollie Katzen, one of her cookbooks was the first vegetarian one I’d ever had! I let someone at my job borrow it and *poof* gone forever. I need to pick that up again.

    We will try our best to catch you today!

    • Chelsea
      October 4, 2011

      If only I was in Bellingham! I actually have TWO copies of one of her cookbooks, and I would totally give you one!

  3. Lacey
    October 5, 2011

    I made sloppy joes very similar to this recipe, but it called for butternut squash – VERY good. Hey, I have a question for you since you know a lot about food stuff… I’ve been hearing that soy is bad for you and could cause cancer – I’ve always bought Callie like the morning star products and I drink soy milk and we eat tofu, but I’ve been looking at labels and it’s in EVERYTHING… even tuna! Is the “filler” soy product what’s bad for you vs. whole soy products? Do you know anything about this? It’s definitely scary what they put in food these days…

    • earth to emily
      October 5, 2011

      Hey Lacey, I have a lot of the same concerns you have. I started doing a lot of the same research earlier this year and was shocked at a lot of the scary stuff out there about soy and soy products. We used to drink soy milk, we eat tofu/tempeh sometimes, and we have indulged in many MorningStar products! I ate this stuff all through pregnancy, too! This is kind of what I found through my own research…

      1- Processed soy is, often found in processed food, is bad…no doubt. Not only is most of it genetically modified (which is just a whole host of other yucky) but when you’re eating stuff like “isolated soy protein”…that’s when you run into problems with phytoestrogens, which can be cancer causing and can cause other horomonal problems (especially in men, and a lot in young boys…which shows you why I started to get concerned) and it can also cause thyroid problems in women as well.

      2- Some people say every single soy thing is bad for you, some say the right kind of soy can be good for you. Obviously in Asian countries they have been eating soy for thousands of years with no real ill effects. But (traditionally) they eat it a lot differently than we do. Most of the time, soy is used as a condiment (like soy sauce). Also, when they do eat soy they eat it in whole (like whole soy beans) or more traditionally processed forms (mostly fermented), like tofu, miso or tempeh. Also, they eat a lot of sea vegetables that are rich in iodine, and iodine has been shown to counteract some of the issues phytoestrogens can cause in the thyroid.

      There are probably a lot of gaping holes in that info, but that’s pretty much the gist I got from everything. Unfortunately, most of the stuff I’ve read is saved on my other computer in storage, or I would give you better info. So, we no longer eat the fake meats anymore and I try to avoid everything with soy filler. It sneaks it’s way in the house sometimes but I just eat it and stop buying it after that. Stuff like tuna is annoying because almost all of them are packed with soybean oil, unless you buy a pricier brand that packs with olive oil .Even the herbal cold remedy I’ve been using forever has soy in it. Weird. I’ve chosen to forgo soy milk, I no longer feel super comfortable with Elliot drinking it after he’s done breastfeeding anyway so I stopped…usually we drink coconut milk, almond or hemp milk now, which ever is on sale! But if I’m at Starbucks or another coffee place and there are no other options, I’ll pick the soy milk over the cow’s milk We eat tofu or tempeh or edamame a couple of times a week, but not every day…and I’ll only by it if it’s organic and GMO free.

      There is a TON of information to sort through and you have to be careful about it, The American Dairy Council did a huge smear campaign bashing soy after it started to become a really popular milk replacement, so you have to sort through the crap to get to the good stuff. I guess I try to avoid the really processed stuff as much as possible and going for the whole form in moderation. I hope this made a little bit of sense…I’ve got a teething baby w/ a possible cold and trying to type this between bursts of crankiness!

      • Lacey
        October 5, 2011

        Wow – thanks for all the info! I’ve been trying to do my own research too, but sometimes it’s hard to know what to believe. I’ve definitely started shopping differently in the past year and it’s a bit stressful – and expensive. I know you worked at the coop in NM so any tips on how to make it more thrifty are welcome! I started drinking coconut milk a couple months ago and LOVE it – I like skim milk because it tasted watered down and coconut milk tastes the same way to me. Callie won’t drink it yet so we give her organic 1%… only so much you can do, right?

        Oh – this is kind of interesting – someone told me awhile ago that processed soy is fed and injected into chickens and it flows through to the eggs – gross!

        It seems like you guys are loving Chicago! At least that’s what I hear from Caleb through Josh 🙂 Is everything going well? Is Elliot adjusting ok? I’d love to see more photos of your apartment – looking forward to the neighborhood tour! Sometimes I wish we could move but I feel pretty stuck in Bellingham… would love somewhere warmer like California!

      • earth to emily
        October 10, 2011

        Oh, freakin’ gross about the eggs. I will have to double check the ones I buy for Josh. That is just uncool as fuck.

        The key to making Co-Op shopping more thrifty is taking advantage of the membership. If you make the most of it, you can really save $$. There are a lot of coupons and specials that are for members only, and you can get some pretty rad discounts that way. You can also get a discount on special bulk orders, meaning if you want to buy a bulk amount of something you buy all the time anyway (cereal, fruit snacks,crackers, etc) you can get it for a smaller mark-up and save cash that way. Also, the B-ham Co-Op does the Annual Patronage Dividend, which means if the Co-Op makes a profit for the year, you can actually get a % of what you spent back. The year I was at the Co-Op in NM, the members got 5% of what they spent back…the average was around $50-100, but some people got $700+ back! But that is ONLY if the Co-Op makes a profit, and the % probably depends on how much that profit was.

        Also, get reusable storage containers and bags to take advantage of the bulk section! We buy in bulk as much as possible…beans, rice, pasta, flour, cereal, olive oil, maple syrup, even candy…you save a lot when you skip the pre-packaging. I’m not sure how great the bulk section is at the Co-Op by your house, but I remember the one downtown as being pretty good. It’s funny, I used to think Co-Opin’ was soooo expensive but now all I can think about is how much money we could save if we lived closer to one! Plus shopping at Whole Foods gives us like, 0 cool points.

        We love it here! But I can feel you on the warmer part…it has been 70 here all week and I am not looking forward to the extremely tragic winter ahead…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2011 by in Recommended Reading and tagged , , , , , , .
