Earth To Emily

The Sickies.

Autumn’s first cold has made it’s way through our house…this time, it hit everyone a little bit. Elliot just got the sniffles, Josh had it for 2 days…and, LUCKY ME! I am on day 4. I blame sleep deprivation (and the fact that I haven’t been taking good care of myself diet-wise, probably doesn’t help).

I’m a pretty big fan of not taking cold medicine. I like to let my immune system work things out and stay in bed, but the “stay in bed” part is not really an option all of the time. I’ve been asked many times by random friends and family what I take when I get sick, so here are some of the things that help me through:

Barlean’s Olive Leaf Complex: Olive leaves are packed with antioxidants and are highly anti-microbial, making this good for viral, bacterial and even fungal infections. Some people take it as a daily supplement, but it’s really expensive so I try to only take it when I really need a boost. Bummer for me, I could not find it at our beloved apothecary shop so this cold I had to go without it…but I did ask them to start carrying it, so maybe I’ll get lucky!

Zyflamend: This is a pretty popular supplement…good for any problems with inflammation, so I tend to grab this when I’m dealing with allergies. It’s also good for those nasty, sinus-based head colds with lots of sinus inflammation, so this was a pretty good substitute for my usual Olive Leaf. Also, the nasty, spicy, bitter herbal taste gets your nose running for sure! (It also comes in capsule form, but I tend to tough it out with the liquid for better absorption.)

Traditional Medicinals Teas: Specifically the Gypsy Cold Care, Throat Coat and Breathe Easy…these are staples in our house. Josh is a tea FREAK when he gets sick so we have to stay fully stocked all winter. However, his old cure-for-the-common-cold used to be tons of cold medicine and switching from regular cigarettes to menthol…so I try not to give him too much shit about the tea thing. I like to add nettles to my tea for an extra boost.

Neti Pot: Sure, you could just do the saline spray, but I’m a little more hard core. I used to have chronic sinus infections, so I like to make sure things get really cleaned out up there. Yes, it feels like your pouring a tea pot into your brain at first, but you won’t drown yourself…it takes a little time to get the angle just right. It’s worth it in the end…when you can BREATHE! I try not to over-do this one, I save it for when I’m super stuffy.

Raw Garlic: This sounds like the kiss of death, but it’s not that bad. Raw garlic is a natural antibiotic and is also a good source of antioxidants. The trick I was taught was to mince the garlic into tiny pieces and swallow without chewing. Chase with a little water, and you’re good to go. Sometimes it gives me heartburn, but a teaspoon of baking soda in about 4 ounces of water seems to diffuse that quickly.

Anyway, I love to learn new natural remedies, so if you have any tried and true for colds, flu or allergies…please pass them on!

Last week was not a good one with drive-by-shootings and sickness, so I officially declare this week…Neighborhood Tour Week! Stay tuned!

Emily

One comment on “The Sickies.

  1. Chelsea
    October 10, 2011

    I love those teas as well – plus whatever medicines/tinctures Joe throws at me. Ech/Bap/Hyd? Haha.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 10, 2011 by in Natural Remedies and tagged , , .
