Earth To Emily

Baked Oatmeal. At least I’m good at that.

I suck. Well, I suck at blogging.

I have had a cold for almost 2 weeks that has been KICKING MY ASS. I can not get over it no matter what I take or do. I actually feel sort of OK now, except for the annoying cough. I was just laying down to take a lovely nap with Elliot, which was super nice until I started coughing my brains out…so I had to run out of the room. Josh is also sick. It’s cold and windy here right now. It has been a blast.

I was going to post more pictures up of the neighborhood but I have been dying. It’s supposed to be nice tomorrow.

I wanted to share this recipe for baked oatmeal I got from Nourished Kitchen. It is REALLY good. Kind of time consuming, but easy and it makes a lot…so you will have a couple days worth of breakfasts. It says 12-16 servings but we must eat like pigs because I think 8 would be more accurate for us.

Courtesy of Nourished Kitchen

You need:

  • 1 pound steel cut oats (we had a ton of thick-rolled oats, they worked fine)
  • 1  cup walnuts, or other nuts
  • 2 tablespoons yogurt, kefir, whey or buttermilk for soaking
  • dash unrefined sea salt
  • 6 pastured eggs
  • 2 cups whole, fresh milk (I used coconut milk)
  • up to ¼ cup maples syrup (the recipe says it’s “optional” but I would recommend it)
  • ½ cup raisins or dried cranberries
  • ½ cup dried unsulfured apricots, diced (I skipped these…couldn’t find them in the neighborhood! I just used 1 cup of raisins.)
  • 2 tablespoons cinnamon
  • ¼ cup coconut oil, plus extra for greasing baking dish
  1. Pour the steel cut oats and nuts into a ceramic container or mixing bowl.
  2. Add enough filtered water to completely submerge your oats and nuts. Add a dash of salt and a two tablespoons of  fresh yogurt, whey, kefir or buttermilk.
  3. Allow the oats and nuts to soak, covered, overnight in a warm place in your kitchen – about eight to twelve hours.
  4. After the mixture of oats and nuts has soaked overnight, dump them into a colander to drain and place the mixture back into the ceramic container or mixing bowl.
  5. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit and grease a 13 x 9-inch rectangular baking pan with coconut oil or another wholesome fat of your choosing.
  6. Meanwhile beat together eggs, milk, maple syrup (if you’re using it), until well-combined and frothy.
  7. Pour the mixture of eggs, milk and maple syrup over the soaked oats and nuts, stirring well to combine into a porridge-like mixture.
  8. Gently fold dried fruit, cinnamon and coconut oil into the porridge-like mixture.
  9. Pour the mixture into a greased baking pan and smooth it out with a rubber spatula to ensure even baking and a good appearance.
  10. Bake in an oven preheated to 375 degrees Fahrenheit for forty to forty-five minutes or until the oatmeal achieves a pleasing golden-brown color on top, a knife inserted into its center comes out clean and free from liquid and the fragrance of baked oats, dried fruit and cinnamon perfumes your kitchen.
  11. If you can bear the wait, allow the baked oatmeal to cool for five to ten minutes before cutting into squares and serving.
It seems like a lot of work, but it’s soooo good…and we probably have breakfast ready until Saturday, which is a bonus! I really want to attempt a completely egg and dairy free version of this recipe. For now, I think I might attempt another nap.
Emily


3 comments on “Baked Oatmeal. At least I’m good at that.

  1. Chelsea
    October 20, 2011

    Oh holy crap, this sounds AMAZING. Definitely making it, if I can find some proper oats that don’t cost a fortune. All they have here is crappy porridge oats that would probably disintegrate if you soaked them.

    • earth to emily
      October 21, 2011

      Whaaat? That is crazy. For some reason I thought oats would be very plentiful in Scotland. I’m not sure where I got that assumption…

  2. Josh
    October 20, 2011

    i can’t wait to get home and eat that!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 20, 2011 by in Uncategorized.
